7th Vienna New Year Classics

As usual, at the beginning of the year, the international series of tournaments started in Vienna last weekend. Four Swiss players joined this opening event:

The only woman, Tanja Omlin, had to face a tough draw and was a bit unlucky to start with squash specialist Lisa Seidensticker from Germany, who in the end won the title of the women’s B draw. Nevertheless, Omlin, after the first round loss, was still motivated to win all her consolation matches, which she did. Finishing 5th was still a good result.
Oliver Bühler had an easier start and won bronze (in Men’s C) at his first ever international tournament! In his starting rounds, his opponents were not really able to challenge him. They got stronger from round to round though, and in the semis he lost by only 7 points. No worries, he will be back on the international tour for sure.
In the same category, Patrick Bürgi, was ready to win his matches but after losing in the quarter-finals by the same narrow margin as Oliver won by (3 points!), he was more or less happy in the end to finish seventh.
The only Swiss elite player was Swiss champion Patrick Lorenz who had quite an easy first round without having had to play tennis. An even tougher opponent was waiting in his next round, though: Austrian champion and number three in the world, Lukas Windischberger. Lorenz was very motivated but without a chance, unfortunately.
In the doubles categories, Omlin and Lorenz had the same partner (Matthias Heilbrunner from Austria). In Mixed B, Omlin ended seventh with him, and in Mens A. Lorenz and he ended fifth. Bürgi also fought with an Austrian partner for a medal in the Mens B doubles, just missing a medal and glory on the podium in fourth position.
Overall, the tournament was great and well organised by Austrian player and legend Florian Ptacnik. Let’s hope that all the experienced referees will be back at the European Championships this summer!
Patrick Lorenz

Share this page

Swiss Racketlon Partner

Upcoming Event

Racketlon Night Tour 2022
Langnau am Albis

Samstag, 10. Dezember 2022

Zur Anmeldung

RNT 2022 Flyer front

Aktuelle Rankings (1. Dezember 2022)

Herren Einzel
1. Benjamin Gränicher
2. Nico Hobi
3. Oliver Bühler
4. Christian Schäfer
5. Cédric Junillon
6. Nicolas Lenggenhager
7. André Bandi
8. Joshua Zeoli
9. Patrick Casanova-Lorenz
10. Yannic Andrey

Damen Einzel
1. Nathalie Vogel
2. Valeria Pelosini
3. Nicole Eisler
4. Adeline Kilchenmann
5. Myriam Enmer

Die gesamten Rankings findet ihr hier.